Tax Season is Here! Save 15% on H&R Block Online
iconAll times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 PM. | Search:

» StockRants Stock Forum » General Forums » Traders Lounge » A good tool and a good strategy

Old 11-15-2009, 09:15 PM   Nav to Top  #1
mstoner
Junior Trader

mstoner is on a distinguished road
Big Smile A good tool and a good strategy

I am relatively new to investing but I have stumbled upon a great book and a couple of tools that make it easy to implement. The book was the best seller Rule #1 investing by Phil Town. After several books before this, I was a little discouraged. The other books didn't provide definitive strategies. Being a software developer, I didn't like the subjective nature of these books. Phil town had a lot of great definitive rules.

So being a developer, I set off to automate the "automatable" (is that a word?) portions of the book. After about 40 hours, I came out with a complete analysis of the 8000+ stocks listed on NYSE, NASDAQ and AMEX. Being proud of this, I shared the book and my tool with my friends. Their response was this looks great but why don't you just go to stock2own.com?

Stock 2 own had 90% of the tools I was looking for and did it far better than I could (unfortunately). And that 90% is free. The 10% that it is missing is FINDING the stocks to do the analysis on. My little app is good for fidning that at least and was not a complete waste of my time. (although I haven't purchased it, stock 2 own does sell their analysis for the markets. I think it is $100.00 or so. I hope to get it free by placing this post).