Tax Season is Here! Save 15% on H&R Block Online
iconAll times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM. | Search:

» StockRants Stock Forum » General Forums » Traders Lounge » How do you evaluate a balance sheet/fundemental?

Old 04-26-2009, 04:49 PM   Nav to Top  #1
Pashka
UberTrader

Favorites: LVS, XL, LCC
Pashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant futurePashka has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to Pashka
Question How do you evaluate a balance sheet/fundementals?

I am a relative newbie and I want to become a more analytical investor instead of a sheep (like many of the veterans suggest). I know fundamentals of a company are UBER important but I'm not sure what metrics to look at in terms of evaluating strengths and weaknesses. Do you guys look at the Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Cash Flow? Do you do a time series analysis so see if there are improvements/deterioration over time? Maybe call the Investor Relations department and grill them on the selling points of the company? Or do you just choose stocks based on the weather pattern over Bermuda? I will appreciate any and all advice that seems sane Thanks in advance for your wisdom

PS I think this will be a good thread for all newbies in this forum so don't hold back

Last edited by Pashka; 04-26-2009 at 04:55 PM..
Pashka is offline   Rate this post Yes | No Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 05:10 PM   Nav to Top  #2
AdamJ
UberTrader

Favorites: OPC WTN GCE IAE QEC ITX