Tax Season is Here! Save 15% on H&R Block Online
iconAll times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 PM. | Search:

» StockRants Stock Forum » Public Stock Forums » Forex Trading » What’s the currency you hold in your forex broker account?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2011, 01:52 AM   Nav to Top  #1
asiaforexmentor
Senior Trader
 
asiaforexmentor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: singapore
Posts: 107
Favorites: set,youp,tee
Rep Power: 117
Reputation: 105
asiaforexmentor will become famous soon enoughasiaforexmentor will become famous soon enough
Default What’s the currency you hold in your forex broker account?

What’s the currency held in your broker?

This is one very important thing that every forex trader should know.
What’s the currency that you hold in your forex broker account?
Regardless of which country are you living in.
Your currency denominator in your forex account should NOT be in USD.
This may come as a BIG Shocker to you.
And if your denominator is in USD. Change It Now!
-Important Forex Tip – What’s the currency held in your broker?

Here’s why:
My Example: I’m based in Singapore. Around 2-3 years back, the USD to SGD (singapore dollar) is at the rate of 1 : 1.4 (est)
-Therefore $1 USD is equals to $1.4 SGD.
-But today $1 USD is equal to $1.1~ SGD.
So had my forex account denominator be held in USD. I will be making a huge loss!
Just for example. If your capital is $100,000 USD 3 years back, if i convert it back to SGD. It will be $140,000 SGD.
And supposedly, if i never traded the account. Today my capital left will be $110,000 SGD.
Meaning i made a loss on my account even though i did not even took a single trade!
Do you see what i’m driving here.
Even though if i had traded the account, my profits would have been wiped off or massively reduced due to the currency difference.
Which also means that you are practically wasting your time trading forex as none of your profits could be seen.
-Important Forex Tip – What’s the currency held in your broker?

So what now?
-Here’s the fact.
The USD will continue its way down, unless there is a chance of them clearing the trillion of dollars in debt. (chances are really slim)
Til then, the USD will at least not grow back to what it once was.
So if you are living outside of the United States.
You should either put your currency in your own country’s denominator or place it in a country which has a stable economy (eg. Singapore is one of them)
And if you are living in the United States.
You should change your denominator to another country which has a stable economy. (Not EUR – due to its mounting debt)
Some brokers will not allow the change if you are living in the United States but some will.
So if those brokers doesn’t allow you to change your denominator to other currency.
CHANGE THEM!
-Important Forex Tip – What’s the currency held in your broker?

-By changing your denominator to other currency, and if the usd continues falling against the currency you put in.
You will see a growth in your capital without even trading!
So that’s Extra Profits! (or even to cover your losses you made through silly mistakes)
Let me know if this post has helped you.
Do share it and like it! Cheers!
Ezekiel Chew, Asia #1 Forex Mentor from www.asiaforexmentor.com
__________________
A complete professional forex trading system that even newbies can apply instantly.

Asia Forex Mentor forex course is now FREE! www.asiaforexmentor.com
asiaforexmentor is offline   Rate this post Yes | No Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 09:51 AM   Nav to Top  #2
Forex Grandeur
Trader
 
Forex Grandeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Russia
Posts: 37
Favorites: Facebook, Apple, Microsoft
Rep Power: 62
Reputation: 13
Forex Grandeur is on a distinguished road
Default

You're right at your point considering your thoughts. However, I don't measure my investment like that way. Trading in Forex, I make PROFITS when my preferred currency goes up. Therefore, I only care the rate for USD. I deposit funds using that method, and I get the profit following the same. So, I don't see any problem here. However, my broker CMTrading offers different currencies like GBP , EUR and USD, but I still go with the USD.
Forex Grandeur is offline   Rate this post Yes | No Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to pick a Brokerage Account StocksonWallStreet Online Brokers 12 01-17-2013 05:54 PM
Free Daily Price Action Forex Trading Strategies & System From Asia Forex Mentor asiaforexmentor Forex Trading 4 08-31-2011 11:58 PM
Halifax Sharedealing Account cheekymonkey Online Brokers 3 04-28-2010 10:12 AM
Sell: Sell or Hold USG StocksonWallStreet US Stock Picks 3 09-22-2009 05:28 AM
Account Problems? Miles StockRants Announcements 0 08-12-2009 04:56 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On